Frequently Asked Questions:

What is NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme, also known as the NDIS, is run by the National Disability Insurance Agency, also known as the NDIA.

The NDIS is for eligible Australians who were either born with or acquire a permanent and significant disability. A ‘permanent disability’ means a person’s disability is likely to be lifelong.

A ‘significant disability’ means a disability with a large impact on a person’s ability to complete everyday activities.

What is NDIA?

The NDIS is managed by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA). The federal government appointed them, and the Department of Social Services funds them (DSS). 

The NDIA is in charge of all NDIS funding administration and will provide guidance about how the NDIS will function, whether you or anyone you care about is eligible, and how you can participate.

Who does NDIS support?

The NDIS provides support to eligible people with intellectual, physical, sensory, cognitive and psychosocial disability. Early intervention supports can also be provided for eligible people with disability or children with developmental delay.

What are the NDIS funded categories?

There are several areas of your life that you can have funded by the NDIS.  These include:

  • Assistance with daily life at home, community, education and work
  • Transport to access daily activities
  • Supported independent living
  • Improved daily living skills
  • Improved relationships
  • Improved living arrangements
  • Improved health and wellbeing
  • Improved learning
  • Finding and keeping a job
  • Increased social and community participation
  • Improved life choices

How do I apply for NDIS?

The first step is to determine whether or not you are qualified. You can do this by looking at the NDIS Access Checklist online or requesting an Access Request form from the National Disability Insurance Agency by calling 1800 800 110.

How do I know if I’m eligible?

To be considered for the NDIS, you must meet the following criteria: 

  • Be between the ages of 7 and 65, 
  • Have a permanent and substantial disability, 
  • Live in Australia, be an Australian resident, or hold a permanent visa, or a secure special category visa.

To determine eligibility, visit the NDIA website and complete the My Access Checker Tool at

What happens to my NDIS when I turn 65?

If you began receiving NDIS funding before turning 65, you have the option of continuing to receive funding as an NDIS participant or switching to Aged Care assistance. 

You are not eligible for NDIS grants if you are over 65 and not on the NDIS. You could also be eligible for assistance from the Aged Care system.

How do I get an NDIS plan?

Preparing for a planning meeting, meeting with an NDIS or Local Area Coordinator to discuss your goals, receiving approval from the NDIA, and conducting a review are all common steps in applying for an NDIS plan. Please contact us for more details about how we can help you through this process.